Egra S S B College Provisional Merit list of this Year to view :


“Rome was not built in a day”. Egra Sarada Shashi Bhusan College is one of the shining colleges affiliated to Vidyasagar University in West Bangal. Located on the outer fringe of the newly developed town Egra, only 35 kms away from the states one of the beautiful tourists’ destinations ‘Digha’ the College is rich in treasure will all the features of a coaryline educational packet. The busy whisks of national and international tourists headed for Digha. A beautiful sea resort naturally decorted with lush green tamarisk trees on the shore of the Bay of Bangal though the heart of Egra have exerted a warm influence on the cultural and educational atmosphere of the town.
Under the grace of God and the mercy of same education lovers Egra Sarada Shashi Bhusan College is established on 8th August, 1968 with its affiliation to Calcutta University. In 1985 it come under Vidyasagar University when the Vidyasagar University was founded in Midnapure. Through long 49 years the college has been acting as a centre of transmission of education the wave length of which crossing their inirial range has at present covered a vast area. But it is not of course an overnight’s effort. It is the outcome of some unending and feeorts of some great souls whom the College still reveres with deep respect and veneration. To recollect their dedication it would be better to expose thew back history of the College a little.
There was no scope for higher education to the poor bit meritorious students of Egra and its surrounding areas for long part. With an intention to remove such agrave problem nad to promote higher education in the locality, Shashi Bhusan das tionists and some local education lovers.
Out of their conjoint efforts and a lot of local people’s selfless contributions, the College saw thw light of the day in 1968. The great education of Late Shashi Bhusan Das and his likeminded wife Sarada Devi ti build up the College still remins and will remain ever so in the cery name of he College. It was they who could materialize the ling cherished hope and dream of the people of the lobality. At the beginning classes were held at Egra Jhatulal High School building. The school authority helped much at that time and leter also. On 30th April 1969 the then Vice-chancellor of the Calcutta University, Dr. Satyendra Nath Sen lay the foundation stone of the building of the College. To eternalize the great financial assistance of Nagendra Nath Mitra and Tara Rani Devi at that time, a part of the newly consrucated College building was dedicated to their names.
After the inauguration of the College in September 1968, the chief architects of the college fell in search of an able Principal of the College. They chose Shri Dulal Chandra Das, M.A., the son of Sarada Devi and Shashi Bhusan Das as the Principal of the College, But Dulal Chandra Das initially refused to take the change. Under the heavy pressure of requests and persistence fron different corners, Dulal Babu had to consent to become the Principal of the College. The founder Principal of the College started the College with the two sections – Arts and Comerce with hons. Course only in a single subject – Political Science. Under his able leadership and hard administrative capability, the College inhaled a healthy air of development. After Dulal Babu, sri Jyotirindra Nath Kar, M.A. come to lead the College from the chair of Teacher–in-charge. He tried his best in his official capacity to keep the candle of development ignited by Sri Dulal Chandra Das burning bright. The College saw myriadsided development under has able stewardship. It was during his tenure when Hons. Courses in Bengali, Englidh and History were introduced in the College. He became able to fasten some colorful feathers to the cap of the College. After the tenure of Sri Jyotirindra Nath Kar come to an end in 2001, Dr. Dipak Kumar Tamili, M.Sc. Ph.D. was recommended by WBCSC as the Principal of the College.
He took the reign of the College in 2001(Feb). Young, energetic and dynamic, Dr. Dipak Kumar Tamili from the every day of his entrance to the College has been running from pillar to post for all round development of the College. He has opened the Science section of the College. It is mainly for his initiation the the College’ “Boy’s cum Teachers” hostel, the Womens Hostel and Administrative Bolck the construction of which have been completed and it is running in full phase. During the tenure Hons. Courses in seven more subjects, Accountancy, Philosophy, Mathematics, Zoology, Botany, Physics, Geography, Chemistry and P.G. in Bengali and Zoology becomes introduced. It is he who has set up a Medical Unit at the College. He extends the scope of studies yhe college so far has been offering by adding Netaji Subhas Open University to the College and scope for college students to engage themselves in different sports activities by building the Outdoor & Indoor Stadium. However it is to early to predict anything on his tenure. Only time can say how thw college will be flourished under his guardianship. Now students are provide will well equipped laboratories. The College authority has resolved to extend more and special financial academic care to the non-creamy layer of the minority community students. The College has completed 49 years of its fruitful existence. Outstanding students serving different fields of the nation extend the pride of the College. During the initial years when the College was at its child stage, there were many problems including an acuts financial crisis. But the storm becomes over, the sky becomes clear with the sunshine dazzling once again. Leaving behind the years of its low key prospects, the College at present moves on only towards the path of glory. For the nourishment of academic, sprots, cultural and other talents, the college will leave no stone unturned to make its campus a centre of quality education and excellence. The NAAC Peer Teem of UGC has visiter our College on 26th & 28th March, 2015 and the College has been re-accredited ‘B’ grade with CGPA – 2.32.